Tuesday, June 08, 2010

Cannes by night

after dinner, we headed to the nightclub where we were supposed to finish our night, Baoli. apparently, we had to be there before 12.30 or we'd lose the table reserved for us. except that, once we got there, they had no clue what we were talking about. this was a nightclub like you see in the movies, the kind where the rich and famous go. we were told they didn't take reservations, then we were told to wait for the hostess, who'd surely be able to sort this out. credit where credit's due, the guy was quite polite.

eventually, we got in. and my, what an experience! because we had a table, we had to buy drinks by the bottle. we're talking hard liquor here, not wine. and the lowest price was 150 euros for a bottle of 'cheap' vodka. everyone's jaws dropped when we looked at the price list. and because we were 14 and it was minimum 1 bottle per 7 people, we got vodka and whisky. oh, and free coke, orange juice and something else.

the music wasn't great, but after a while, i got dancing nonetheless. as S. mentioned the next morning, the guys did not look at the girls - they were already with the women they wanted to be seen with! i saw 'Special Agent Di Nozzo' there - he passed our table. when i told A&M later on, while we were walking back to our hotel about an hour later - the music really was crap - they couldn't believe i hadn't told them sooner! they were big fans. but anyway, we all agreed that it really wasn't our type of place. all three of us being on the left side of the political world, we simply couldn't believe how much money these people were spending there. but then we walked past that hotel that had a 36,000-euro-per-night room during the festival, and that seemed like even more of a waste. by comparison, 150 euros for a bottle seems like a measly sum.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home