come on, we're not 12 anymore!
as
you get older, you learn to behave as an adult. well, in principle, anyway. for some, this seems to be difficult. you would think that fully grown
adults - and not the new ones, those with about 2 decades' worth of
experience at it - would behave as such. it seems, however, that this
is not necessarily the case.
one of my friends is actively asking me what she should do about
the guy whom she indirectly contacted through FB - as in, she wrote a
random comment on his wall and apparently expects the guy to understand
she wants to date him. why not just call him? or, if that's too direct,
send him an email about meeting up? at worst, he'll say no but at least
there won't be a need to spend days wondering if a) he saw the post,
b) understood the underlying message and c) whether he's just pretending
not to have seen it and what that could mean. and here i'm thinking: we're not 12 anymore!
another
friend, male this time, also seems intent on doing things indirectly.
rather than just emailing his friend and asking her how she's doing,
he's asking his best friend to reach out and find out. ok, so he's not
in the same country but why exactly does this have to go through a third
party? i don't get why he can't just send her a message. and poor best friend, who for some crazy reason agrees to be part of this...
and then there's my best friend. he always says we should meet up more often but then never does anything about it. at some point i decided that if he wanted to meet up, he could call/text/email and set up a time & place. this obviously resulted in us not seeing each other that much, which he seems pained about but clearly not enough to actually do anything about it. and to him i'd like to say that it goes both ways. i'd love to hang out more but i am going to prioritise people who make an effort to see me. so walk the talk or stop complaining.

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home