Saturday, August 26, 2006

rant, rant, rant

it's annoying as hell, but being as i am, some people seem to have trouble relating to me as a normal human being. i don't smoke, i don't do drugs and i rarely drink (i don't like most alcohols, although give me an Alabama Slammer and i'm your girl!). people seem to think this makes me nearly a saint or something, which in turn seems to annoy them quite a bit. for example, i have a policy: i don't drink and drive. i know that one glass at the beginning of the evening wouldn't kill me, or affect my driving skills but i just don't do it. i absolutely don't require other people to do the same. i have been driven back by people who had had more than a drink or two, no problem. but this apparently makes some people feel bad. i guess i understand: if i can have fun without alcohol when others need alcohol to have fun, it must be annoying. what really annoys me, though, is when people, despite what i've said, keep trying to convince me to have a drink. someone once bought me a whisky, on the basis of the fact that if someone bought him one, he'd drink it, even if he'd said he'd stop, especially as it was more expensive than beer. and then he got pissed off at me for refusing to drink it! hello, did i not just say i didn't want one?

and apparently, i'm unflexible, and this based solely on the fact that once i've made up my mind, i rarely change it. and i have principles. like, no, i'm not going to sleep with anything that resembles a man simply because i haven't slept with one for a while. and i most certainly am not going to bring someone i've only just met to my flat. in the same way that i don't give out my phone number after a first meeting. there's nothing wrong with email, it doesn't ring every five minutes and it can be blissfully ignored. i've had enough bad experiences to be careful. so i sound paranoid? i'm just not up for repeating painful experiences.

and it drives me nuts. just because other people can't stick to their decisions (which i never said was a bad thing), i'm nearly evil. i know what i want, and i know what i don't want, and i'm sorry if most people don't but i'd like people to stop treating me like a freak. although to be fair, as i have nothing in common with the people who think i'm so unflexible, i'm happy to stay away from them and don't really care what they think. it's just that when i do have to see them, it pisses me off no end.

i know this is nonsensical, as most people really like me and accept me the way i am. they generally think i'm great and miss me when i'm not around. so why this rant? sometimes you just get pissed off, and as i've been bed-ridden for the past two days, i'm now bored out of my mind. something had to give, and here is my post.

2 Comments:

At 9:52 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

this post made me *REALLY* miss you! i already missed you but then when i read this i was reminded how awesomely strong you are...and i love that! dont ever change for anyone...i know you wont anyway...you'll just tell them off!! oh this post also made me laugh! lets talk soon! and i hope u feel better!!!
-stacy

 
At 1:36 PM, Blogger The Archaeologist said...

*big smile* thanks for your support sweetie! i miss you too, and wish you'd find it in your heart to drop by on the way back to NY!

 

Post a Comment

<< Home